FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Library > Blogs > Falvey Memorial Library Blog > Peek at the Week: Nov. 28-Dec. 2

Peek at the Week: Nov. 28-Dec. 2

  • Posted by: Hunter Houtzer
  • Posted Date: November 28, 2016
  • Filed Under: Library News

PEEK graphic2

Quote of the Week: 
“‘Supposing a tree fell down, Pooh, when we were underneath it?’
‘Supposing it didn’t, said Pooh after careful thought.
Piglet was comforted by this.”
-A.A. Milne

I hope you’ve not had too many political conversations over dinner (unless maybe that’s your family’s thing) and are rested enough to finish the semester strong. We have a big three weeks(ish) ahead of us and then (finally) we come to the purest form of the holiday season: a whole month without academic responsibility.


This week in the library:
Tuesday, Nov. 29th,
-Food for Thought Discussion- VITAL, Room 207, 11:30-12:45 p.m.
-Theology & Religious Studies: Faith & Culture, Room 204, 5:00-6:30 p.m.
-Agape Latte, First Floor Lounge, 8:00-9:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 30th,
-Food for Thought Discussion-VITAL, Room 206, 11:30-12:45
Friday, Dec. 2nd, 
-ACS Writing Awards Reception, Speaker’s Corner, 3:30-5:00 p.m.


#MindfulnessMonday
I asked William Repetto what he does to de-stress, in hopes he would spark inspiration for this section of the blog. He said things like “take a walk, cook a gluten-free meal, actually do my work, etc.”
However, none of these options felt right for this week’s #MindfulnessMonday.
He then said, “people could read Cat in the Stacks!”

So that is my suggestion to you all this week in case you were in need of an insightful, contemplative, inspiring, unique read this week.


Save the Date: 

Monday, Dec. 12th, 
-Final Day of Classes
Tuesday, Dec. 13th, 
-Reading Day (yay!)


Just to reiterate: 
In this difficult time we at Falvey Library want to remind students that Safe Zone volunteers offer a place that any student can come to seek solace or refuge. No appointment necessary. No questions asked.

Many Safe Zone Volunteers at Falvey will have the Safe Zone logo posted on their office door, but you can also access a full alphabetical Listing of Safe Zone Volunteers/Locations here

This is a list of Safe Zone Volunteers at Falvey:
Robin Bowles, Second Floor Office 220, robin.bowles@villanova.edu
Luisa Cywinski, First Floor Access Services, luisa.cywinski@villanova.edu
Nikolaus Fogle, Second Floor Office 227, nikolaus.fogle@villanova.edu
Millicent Gaskell, Old Falvey Admin Office, millicent.gaskell@villanova.edu
Mary Beth Simmons, Second Floor Writing Center 202, mary.beth.simmons@villanova.edu
Sarah Wingo, Second Floor Office 223, sarah.wingo@villanova.edu


#FalveyPeek at the Week provided by Hunter Vay Houtzer, a graduate assistant on the Communications and Marketing Team at the Falvey Memorial Library. She is working toward an MA in Communication at Villanova University, and on winter-wardrobe preparations. Send your thoughts/suggestions to Hunter at #falveypeek. See you next Monday for more!


Like

0 Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

*

 


Last Modified: November 28, 2016