It’s Father’s Day this Sunday, so what better way to celebrate than by honoring the Library’s namesake and founding father, the Rev. Daniel P. Falvey, OSA, MSLS, with a #TBT?
Father Falvey, who served as head librarian from 1940-1962, was a driving force to unify the library’s physical collection and fund raise to facilitate the creation of a modern building for Villanova. During his tenure as University Librarian and until his death in 1962, he was committed to the continued growth of the Library.
This is a snapshot of students hard at work in the Reading Room in October of 1964. The Reading Room first opened in 1949, in what was then the Villanova College Library. It was renamed Falvey Hall in 1963 in honor of Father Falvey.
Happy Father’s Day to all of ‘Nova Nation!
Discover more photos like this in the University Archives.
Regina Duffy is Communications and Marketing Program Manager at Falvey Memorial Library. Her father likes to send emails in “All Caps.”
0 Comments »
No comments yet.