Skip Navigation
Falvey Library
You are exploring: Home > Blogs

Honoring the 2017 Falvey Scholars

  • Posted by: Alice Bampton
  • Posted Date: May 15, 2017
  • Filed Under: Library News
Group photo of Scholars with Catherine Stecyk, Father Peter, and Millicent Gaskell

Catherine Stecyk, Assistant Director, Center for Undergraduate Research and Fellowships; Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, PhD; Ryan Zalla; Stephen Purcell; Kathleen Boyce; Anna Briker; Emma Max; Danielle Sens-Castet; Millicent Gaskell, University Librarian

As part of Villanova’s senior week, the library blog is featuring this year’s Falvey Scholars. The Falvey Scholars Award was established in 2002 by then University Librarian, Joseph P. Lucia, to recognize outstanding undergraduate research. Falvey Scholars are selected from a pool of senior candidates nominated by their faculty advisors. The Falvey Scholars Selection Committee is comprised of representatives from Falvey Memorial Library and the Center for Undergraduate Research and Fellowships.

The Falvey Scholars Award ceremony was held on Friday morning, April 28, with Millicent Gaskell, University Librarian, as emcee and award presenter. Craig M. Wheeland, PhD, Vice Provost for Academics, welcomed the attendees. The Rev. Peter M. Donohue, OSA, PhD, University President, gave the closing remarks, met each scholar and posed for a group photograph.

The blog will present the scholars in alphabetical order beginning with Kathleen Boyce, followed by Anna Briker,  Emma Max, Stephen Purcell, Danielle Sens-Castet and Ryan Zalla.

We are committed to accuracy and will make appropriate corrections. We apologize for any errors and always welcome input about news coverage that warrants correction. Messages can be e-mailed to or call (610)519-6997.


1 People Like This Post


No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment


Last Modified: May 15, 2017

Ask Us: Live Chat
Back to Top