Skip Navigation
Falvey Library
You are exploring: Home > Blogs


This prize is awarded to the best unpublished essay or monograph on the
philosophy of war and peace submitted for the competition.
Process: The winning entry is selected by a committee of 3-6 members, appointed
by the Chair of the APA’s Committee on Lectures, Publications, and Research, in
consultation with LPR committee members.

Frequency: Every 2 years (odd years)

Award Amount: $1,500

Last Award: 2011

Next Award: 2013


The Frank Chapman Sharp Memorial Prize was established in 1990 with funds
donated by Eliot and Dorothy Sharp and several other members and friends of the
Sharp family to honor the memory of Eliot’s father. Frank Chapman Sharp was
President of the Western Division of the APA in 1907-08 and was a member of the
philosophy faculty at the University of Wisconsin from 1893 until his retirement
in 1936. Dr. Sharp was born in 1866 and died in 1943.

Submission Procedures

APA Members and student associates are eligible to submit unpublished essays or
monographs for the prize. Manuscripts should be between 7,500 to 75,000 words
(between 30 and 300 double-spaced typed pages), and not published OR committed
for publication at the time of the award. Undergraduate entrants must be
philosophy majors (or something close); graduate students must be enrolled in,
or on leave from, a graduate program in philosophy. Authors must be members in
good standing of the APA. Send the paper (electronically) with the title and
author’s name and affiliation on a separate page. Any identifying references in
the body and footnotes of the manuscript should be removed. Deadline for
submission: March 15, 2012. Submissions should be sent via email to: Linda
Nuoffer ( with the subject line: Sharp Memorial Prize.

Previous awardees:

2011 – Seth Lazar (University of Oxford), War and Associative Duties
2009 – No award given
2007 – Jeff McMahan, “The Morality and Law of War”
2005 – Larry May, “War Crimes and Just Wars”
2003 – James Bohman, “Punishment as an International Political Obligation:
Crimes Against Humanity and the Enforceable Right to Membership”
2001 – No award given
1999 – Brian Orend, “A Theory of War Termination”
1997 – David Rodin, “Self-Defense and War”
1995 – No award given
1993 – No award given
1991 – Barry Gan, “Anti-Warism: A New Pacifist Perspective”


From the APA webpage:



No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.


Last Modified: February 3, 2012

Ask Us: Live Chat
Back to Top