Library News

RefWorks Thursdays: Gathering Citations Getting You Down?

Learn how to organize your research and never type a bibliography again with RefWorks.  MLA, APA and other styles supported. Open to faculty, staff, and students in all disciplines.

When? Nov. 5 & 12

4:00-5:00pm

Where: Driscoll Hall, Room 221

MUST BRING YOUR OWN LAPTOP!

Contact: Barbara Quintiliano, Instructional Design Librarian (telephone: ext.95207)

ENROLLMENT LIMITED TO 20 PERSONS.  PLEASE CONTACT BARBARA IF YOU PLAN TO ATTEND.

Mannella Endowed Funds Support Lecture Series and Collections: A Way to Honor Cherished Family Members

On October 27, Falvey Memorial Library will host the inaugural lecture in the “Alfred F. Mannella and Rose T. Lauria-Mannella Distinguished Speakers Series.” Richard Juliani, Ph.D., sociology department, will describe his four decades of research on the Italian experience in Philadelphia, highlighting both challenges and future opportunities. His talk will begin at 7 p.m.

Mr. Alfred S. Mannella

Alfred S. Mannella

In 1996, Falvey Memorial Library’s friend and supporter Alfred S. Mannella, ‘58 VSB, established two endowed library funds to support the purchase of books and other research materials as memorials to family members.

Now one of those funds will also support a lecture series.

The Speakers series honors Mr. Mannella’s parents, Alfred F. and Rose T. Lauria-Mannella. His father, the son of immigrants, was born in Philadelphia in 1904 and established himself as a tailor. An avid sports fan, he developed an interest in Villanova football starting in the 1930s when Maurice J. “Clipper” Smith was the coach.

His mother was the grandchild of immigrants and grew up in south Philadelphia. (more…)

19th Century UK Magazines Reveal Victorian Life: A New Resource

queenvictoria_b19th Century UK Periodicals

New Readerships (Series 1) consists of  women’s and children’s periodicals, as well as humor and leisure/sport magazines and chronicles the rise of modern magazine culture. Featured are women’s magazines, such as Hearth and Home and the Women’s Penny Paper, satirical titles such as Punch and Fun, magazines aimed at the young, such as Boy’s Own Paper, as well as a number of sports and leisure magazines.

Empire (Series 2) includes the complete run of over 90 magazines. Topics range from the abolition of the slave trade within the British Empire in 1807 to the first Opium Wars (1839-42) and the “scramble for Africa” in the 1880s and 1890s.

Records to all magazines in the collection will be added to the library online catalog. Each record will have a link to individual titles. Links to the digital collection itself appear on the Databases A-Z list (under N), as well as on the primary sources tab of the history subject guide, and other subject guides as well.

Comments? Please let us know what you think.

By Jutta Seibert (from her History & Sociology blog)

PsycInfo with a New (inter)Face: Tips for Searching this Premier Psychology Resource

Yes, the first search screen to PsycInfo, the important psychology database, is definitely different from the version Falvey subscribed to last semester. Due to popular demand, we were able to switch vendors from OVID to CSA.

csa_logo_left1The CSA interface is familiar to many on campus who have used databases such as PAIS or Sociological Abstracts. In fact, you can search many of the CSA databases simultaneously, if you wish.

Access PsycInfo through the Databases A-Z list or via the Psychology Subject Guide.

To begin, enter your search terms at the initial search screen and then scroll down to limit your search in many ways, such as language, age ranges and methodology. And, as an extra plus, you can export your marked citations directly to RefWorks, according to the 6th edition of APA style. (more…)

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures

Villanova faculty and students now have online access to the Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures. The encyclopedia focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played an historic role. It is “an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.” Available through the library home page via E-Reference Resources A-Z.

For more information, see Jutta Seibert’s blog post.

See, Experience & Study Counseling Sessions

The Counseling and Therapy In Video database is now available. It is a searchable online collection of hours of video helpful for those in the fields of counseling, psychology, social work and psychotherapy. It includes counseling sessions and demonstrations which are produced specifically for educational training (actual, re-enacted, and scripted). The consultations and lectures by experts outline therapeutic approaches and issues affecting the mental health field. The teaching and discussion guides are downloadable. Among the different ways to search include client details such as age and gender, conditions and symptoms, therapeutic method and subjects such as divorce.

This guide to the database shows how to make clips on page 8 and how to create playlists on pages 9-10. Sample search topics are on page 13.

The Chronicle of Higher Education now has campus-wide online access through Falvey — Read it daily

Falvey now offers the University community online access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, “the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.” Widely valued for the timeliness and credibility of its news coverage, the Chronicle has won numerous awards for its coverage of political issues with impact on higher education. (more…)

Counseling and Therapy in Video : See, experience, and study counseling (Trial)

Trial subscription until June 22, 2009. (Let us know what you think.)

Counseling and Therapy in Video provides a searchable online collection of videos available for the study of counseling, psychology, and psychotherapy. When complete this site will include “400 hours and more than 330 videos to allow students, teachers and professionals to see, experience and study counseling in ways never before possible.” The types of videos include:

  • Counseling Sessions and Demonstrations
  • Consultations
  • Lectures, presentations, and interviews
  • Teaching and Discussion Guides
  • Continuing Education (C.E) Credits

The Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (trial until 3/5/2009)

The Library is currently running a trial of The Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H Jacobs. The trial will last until March 5, 2009.. Log-in with your Villanova user id and password and enter welcome on the Proquest log-in screen. Please take a look and let us know what you think.The Gerritsen Collection is currently housed in the Spencer Library at the University of Kansas and was until recently only in microfilm available to the wider public. The collection consists of more than 4,700 books, pamphlets and periodicals. The materials span four centuries, from 1543 to 1945 and 15 languages.

In the late 1800’s, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women’s rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women’s history in the world. For a more detailed description, see “The Gerritsen Collection.” by Janet Sharistanian et al. in Feminist Studies, vol. 3, no. 3/4 (spring-summer 1976), pp. 200-206.

PsycArticles and PsycINFO (CSA): Trial Subscriptions

PsycArticles (1894- ) Password: welcome

Provides access to full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists. In 2006, the historical backfiles of the journals were added to the database.

PsycINFO
(1806- ) Password: welcome

Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

Trial subscription until March 20, 2009.

The purpose of the trial is

  • to compare the ease of searching in the CSA interface versus the OVID interface.
  • to review the record display to see if it is more useful?
  • Note that descriptors in a record display can be combined with and or or.
Next Page »