Library News

RefWorks Thursdays: Gathering Citations Getting You Down?

Learn how to organize your research and never type a bibliography again with RefWorks.  MLA, APA and other styles supported. Open to faculty, staff, and students in all disciplines.

When? Nov. 5 & 12

4:00-5:00pm

Where: Driscoll Hall, Room 221

MUST BRING YOUR OWN LAPTOP!

Contact: Barbara Quintiliano, Instructional Design Librarian (telephone: ext.95207)

ENROLLMENT LIMITED TO 20 PERSONS.  PLEASE CONTACT BARBARA IF YOU PLAN TO ATTEND.

The Chronicle of Higher Education now has campus-wide online access through Falvey — Read it daily

Falvey now offers the University community online access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, “the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.” Widely valued for the timeliness and credibility of its news coverage, the Chronicle has won numerous awards for its coverage of political issues with impact on higher education. (more…)

Cold Spring Harbor Protocol: Trial Subscription

ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY
http://cshprotocols.cshlp.org/
(Ignore sign-in. Scroll past middle of page for subject categories.)
Available until June 30, 2009
Please send comments to Barbara Quintiliano (x95207)
barbara.quintiliano@villanova.edu

Take advantage of Falvey’s trial subscription to the Cold Spring Harbor Protocols,a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features—such as discussion forums and personal folders—made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes

    cell and molecular biology
    genetics
    bioinformatics
    protein science
    imaging.

Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.

PsycArticles and PsycINFO (CSA): Trial Subscriptions

PsycArticles (1894- ) Password: welcome

Provides access to full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists. In 2006, the historical backfiles of the journals were added to the database.

PsycINFO
(1806- ) Password: welcome

Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

Trial subscription until March 20, 2009.

The purpose of the trial is

  • to compare the ease of searching in the CSA interface versus the OVID interface.
  • to review the record display to see if it is more useful?
  • Note that descriptors in a record display can be combined with and or or.

Dissertations & Theses Full Text Now Available 1997-

Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest)  (1861- ; Full Text 1997 - )

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master’s theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).