Library News

CAMIO : Catalog of Art Museum Images Online : trial until October 30, 2008

CAMIO  Authorization: 100318198  Password: camiojc

  • The database contains about 95,000 works of fine and decorative art.
  • The images come from more than 20 museums, located in the United States and abroad.
  • All content is rights-cleared for educational use.
  • The collection ranges from 3000 BCE to the present, representing premiere examples of Asian, African, Latin American and Western art.
  • Includes difficult-to-find contemporary art.
  • Users can download high-resolution images, and e-mail images and metadata for further study.
  • For more information on CAMIO, click here

Since this database is on trial, it is under consideration for purchase. Please leave your comments/votes below if you would like us to keep this resource.

MRI+ University Internet Reporter

MRI+ is an outstanding research tool every marketing major will want to add to his or her toolbox.  Based on a national consumer survey this database allows you to generate reports on user demographics and media exposure keyed to products.  Product summary reports can also be used to calculate market share by user or volume consumed for product catagories or brands.

Before you get started with MRI+, you need to create an individual user name and password with your Villanova email address.  This resource is only compatible with the Internet Explorer browser (sorry Firefox and Safari users).

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics aspires to be the “definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.” Given the caliber of its contributors and scope of the encyclopedic articles included, this resource should be the first stop for undergraduates and researchers looking for orientation to and context for unfamiliar economics topics. Faculty members’ pedagogical goals may be well served by assigning articles from this source as supplementary reading. This encyclopedia contains almost 2000 articles and will be updated quarterly. It is browsable by JEL topics or alphabetically and supports simple keyword searching.

Electronic Enlightenment online

Electronic Enlightenment offers unrivalled access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long 18th century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Trial until October 15, 2008

  • There is also an expanding network of external links to leading resources from Chambers’ Cyclopaedia to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
  • Click here to learn more about this primary source.

    Since this database is on trial, that is under consideration for purchase.  Please leave your comments/vote below as to if you would like to see us keep this resource.

African American Studies Center Online (Oxford) : online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies

The database provides students, scholars and librarians with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies.

At its core, AASC features:

  • the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895
  • Black Women in America
  • the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience
  • African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes)
  • the Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture
  • In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford’s reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.

Bizminer : online database that delivers detailed industry analysis

Bizminer offers

  • “Sole Proprietor and Start-Up”
  • “Industry Financial Reports” with average income statements
  • cash flows
  • balance sheet and financial ratios for benchmarking
  • projections for smaller private enterprises
  • It is searchable by keyword, SIC code or industry cluster

Now available –Fuente Académica: a multi-disciplinary Spanish language database

Fuente Académica
Fuente Académica is a full text Spanish language database with a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.

  • It is a multidisciplinary database that indexes articles from more than 200 Spanish language scholarly journals and magazines.
  • Coverage includes:   literature, linguistics, history, political science, business & economics, medical sciences, law, computer science, library & information sciences, philosophy and theology.
  • Time span from 1990 (for most titles) to the present.  The database is updated monthly.

International Encyclopedia of Communication: Available online

International Encyclopedia of Communication *

The International Encyclopedia of Communication is an authoritative and comprehensive reference work sponsored by the International Communication Association. The contributors are all respected scholars in their areas of specialty.

For Communication students this, rather then Wikipedia, should be the first place to look for background and orientation to topics across the spectrum of communication topics.

The scope of subjects covered include

  • theory
  • philosophy
  • interpersonal communication
  • organizational communication
  • foreign media systems
  • technology
  • media policy
  • research methods

To find what you need browse alphabetically, by subject, people, place or period or search the full text of articles for your own keywords.

OpinionArchives Database: accessing electronic archives to leading journals of opinion.

OpinionArchives
Provides an accessible and invaluable source of information of electronic archives to leading journals of opinion.

  • Search the full text of over 740 years of archives including:

    • Harpers Magazine
    • The New Republic
    • The Nation
    • Commentary
    • Scientific American
    • NACLA
    • Commonweal
    • American Spectator
    • National Review
    • The New York Review of Books

    An invaluable resource, providing in-depth analysis of topics such as the cold war, the Arab-Israeli conflict, American foreign policy, defense, the Supreme Court, affirmative action, welfare, crime, immigration, religion, education, art, literature, militarism, human rights violations, environmental destruction, classical music, and much more.

  • Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources Available online

    Gale Directory Library: Encyclopedia of  Business Information Sources is a research guide for business topics.  Use it to identify the handbooks, manuals, encyclopedias, article databases, statistical sources, periodicals and trade and professional associations for industries and issues important to doing business in the US.

    Next Page »